Cannot divide by zero

Discussion of the nature of Ultimate Reality and the path to Enlightenment.
Animus

Cannot divide by zero

Post by Animus »

So, I've been thinking about, when it is said that the self is nothing, and that reality is everything. And it is said that reality is divided by us.

In mathematics - which I'm not very good at - Unity is considered the equivalent of 1 and 1 is sometimes called "Unity".

If we think that there is essentially 1 reality, and there is no division within it, unless divided by us, then there is not 2 realities or 3 realities, but only 1, and thus 1 represents unity.

The Self, is claimed to be essentially nothing but the denominator of unity, it is zero, but it is that which divides reality?

I remember from high-school mathematics that one cannot divide by 0 and my windows XP calculator just says "Cannot divide by 0".

Most of us are taught that 1 divided by 0 is simply 0, and the expression is give "If you have 1 apple to divide amongst 0 people, how many apples does each person get?"

In this example it makes sense that the result would be 0, but when we are speaking of the conscious self as 0, and dividing unity it takes on a whole new meaning, a transcendental meaning and enters the realm of transfinite numbers.... I believe.

We can perform a calculation on 1/0 using basic maths to arrive at irrational results...

Infinity = 1/0
0*Infinity = 1 (Multiply both sides by 0)
(0+0)*Infinity = 1+0 (Add 0 to both sides)
0*Infinity + 0*Infninity = 1 (At this point, 0*Infinity could be seen simply as 0, as Infinity, or as 1, giving us 3 different answers)
1 + 1 = 1, 0 + 0 = 1, or Infinity + Infinity = 1

If, nothing is considered to be a something, in terms of the conceptual nature of the human mind, that the void we perceive overshadowing our infintesimally small dot is a something contrasting the dot, then mathematically we run into some funny business.