Religion as a Side Effect of Evolution

Discussion of the nature of Ultimate Reality and the path to Enlightenment.
Gretchen

Religion as a Side Effect of Evolution

Post by Gretchen »

Kevin Solway wrote:
Consciousness evolved because it gave us a survival advantage. It turned out that humanoids with greater consciousness had more chance of surviving and passing on their genes than humanoids with lesser consciousness. That's the way natural selection works.
I have become interested in evolution theory from a non-scientist perspective – as I am not a scientist. I have read where there exist certain adaptations that, as a whole, may not necessarily be good, or that certain genetic adaptations cause peculiar “side effects,” for lack of a better term.

In taking what Kevin has stated, given that consciousness was an evolutionary adaptation for survival, could it be that the creation of religion and gods are a “side effect” of this adaptation?

Kevin Solway wrote:
This alien being of yours (ie, your "God") must have been extremely lazy — to seed a world with only microbes, and then wait billions of years for intelligent life to evolve.

Why didn't he "implant" fully conscious life right from the start?

I know: "For reasons known only to him". ;-)
If a genetic predisposition towards God and/or a God concept exists, then, in accordance with Totality, it has existed since the beginning, correct? In your opinion, what viable situation exists to explain why it took so long for this evolutionary adaptation to manifest itself? Or is there one?
skipair

Re: Religion as a Side Effect of Evolution

Post by skipair »