Causality and determinism

Discussion of the nature of Ultimate Reality and the path to Enlightenment.
maestro

Causality and determinism

Post by maestro »

Does causality imply that the future is fixed? If not why not.

If the future is fixed, then where is the merit or demerit for the individual. The enlightened had no choice but be enlightened, and the fool had no choice to be otherwise, all are machines there is no value in one or the other.
Carl G

Re: Causality and determinism

Post by Carl G »

I don't believe in any of that causality bullshit. I am a free agent.
Good Citizen Carl
maestro

Post by maestro »

Can you give me an example where causality is violated.
Carl G

Post by Carl G »

Actually I'd like to give a quick example of the opposite: I am caused to be sick to death with all the recent talk about causality on this board. Like A=A it is a non-starter as far as truths which mean something significant.

On the other hand, Gurdjieff said one can transcend the law of cause and effect (as he defined it), and G is my man.
Good Citizen Carl
Cory Duchesne

Post by Cory Duchesne »

Carl G wrote:I don't believe in any of that causality bullshit. I am a free agent.
Riiiiiight - and the world is secretly being run by shape shifting reptilians from the constellation Draco.

Oh, wait a sec....that's actually what you believe, isn't it?
Kevin Solway

Post by Kevin Solway »

maestro wrote:Does causality imply that the future is fixed?
Logically, yes it does. It is fixed from the perspective of the Absolute.
Cory Duchesne

Post by Cory Duchesne »

Of course.
If the future is fixed, then where is the merit or demerit for the individual.
We are caused to have values - and since we have values, we have no choice to deem some things as superior, and others inferior.
The enlightened had no choice but be enlightened, and the fool had no choice to be otherwise, all are machines there is no value in one or the other.
Something is of value when it serves our interest.